Encyclopedia > Ovo-lacto vegetarian

  Article Content

Ovo-lacto vegetarian

An ovo-lacto vegetarian is a vegetarian who consumes eggs and dairy products. Ovo means "Eggs" and Lacto means "Dairy". Contrast this with vegans who consume neither.

Most vegetarians are ovo-lacto vegetarians. Generally speaking, when one uses the term vegetarian an ovo-lacto vegetarian is assumed.



All Wikipedia text is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License

 
  Search Encyclopedia

Search over one million articles, find something about almost anything!
 
 
  
  Featured Article
Kentucky Fried Chicken

... some of the primary ingredients: salt, ground black pepper, flour, and monosodium glutamate. KFC claims that Colonel Sanders' recipe had eleven secret herbs and ...