Encyclopedia > Lower Mainland

  Article Content

Lower Mainland

The Lower Mainland is the name that residents of British Columbia apply to the region surrounding the City of Vancouver. While the term has been recorded from the earliest period of European settlement in British Columbia, it has never been officially defined in legal terms, therefore, remains subjective.

Today, the term Lower Mainland generally refers to the legally defined area known as the Greater Vancouver Regional District. This area is made up of 21 municipalities: Anmore, Belcarra, Bowen Island, Burnaby, Coquitlam, Delta, Langley City, Langley Township, Lions Bay, Maple Ridge, New Westminster, North Vancouver City, North Vancouver District, Pitt Meadows, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody, Richmond, Surrey, Vancouver, West Vancouver, and White Rock.

According the 1996 Canada Census there were 1,831,665 persons living in this region.

Government websites for the Lower Mainland

Greater Vancouver Regional District - pop. 1,831,665 (1996): http://www.gvrd.bc.ca
Anmore - pop. 981 (1996): http://www.anmore.com
Belcarra - pop. 665 (1996): http://www.vob.belcarra.bc.ca
Bowen Island - pop. 3,066 (1996): http://www.bowen-island-bc.com
Burnaby - pop. 179,209 (1996): http://www.city.burnaby.bc.ca
Coquitlam - pop. 101,820 (1996): http://www.city.coquitlam.bc.ca
Delta - pop. 95,411 (1996): http://www.corp.delta.bc.ca
Langley City - pop. 22,523 (1996): http://www.city.langley.bc.ca
Langley Township - pop. 80,179 (1996): http://www.township.langley.bc.ca
Lions Bay - pop. 1,347 (1996): No website available
Maple Ridge - pop. 56,173 (1996): http://district.maple-ridge.bc.ca
New Westminster - pop. 49,350 (1996): http://www.city.new-westminster.bc.ca
North Vancouver City - pop. 41,475 (1996): http://www.cnv.org
North Vancouver District - pop. 80,418 (1996): http://www.district.north-van.bc.ca
Pitt Meadows - pop. 13,436 (1996): http://www.pittmeadows.bc.ca
Port Coquitlam - pop. 46,682 (1996): http://www.city.port-coquitlam.bc.ca
Port Moody - pop. 20,847 (1996): http://www.city.port-moody.bc.ca
Richmond - pop. 148,867 (1996): http://www.city.richmond.bc.ca
Surrey - pop. 304,477 (1996): http://www.city.surrey.bc.ca
Vancouver - pop. 514,008 (1996): http://www.city.vancouver.bc.ca
West Vancouver - pop. 40,882 (1996): http://www.westvancouver.net
White Rock - pop. 17,210 (1996): http://www.city.whiterock.bc.ca



All Wikipedia text is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License

 
  Search Encyclopedia

Search over one million articles, find something about almost anything!
 
 
  
  Featured Article
East Hampton North, New York

... The median age is 41 years. For every 100 females there are 92.6 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 90.2 males. The median income for a ...

 
 
 
This page was created in 24 ms